Excellence in Post-Secondary Mathematics Teaching Award

Guidelines for Nomination

The nominee should meet all of the following requirements:

  1. Be a highly motivated and effective teacher of undergraduate mathematics at a two-year college, four-year college, or university in Illinois whose current assignment includes teaching math at least 50% of the time.
  2. Demonstrate a sound knowledge of mathematics.
  3. Continue to study mathematics and/or mathematics education on a regular basis.
  4. Participate actively in professional mathematics organizations.
  5. Show leadership and influence on others at the local and state levels.

 Past Winners 

1988 Carole Bauer   1999 James Trefzger
1989 Darrell Ropp   2001 M. Vali Siadat
1990 Lotus Hershberger   2002 Steve Shaff
1991 Linda Sons   2003 Max Gerling
1993 Thomas Cochran   2006 Shirley A. Wilson
1994 Nancy Taitt   2008 Susan Beal
1995 Leona Mirza   2011 Jennifer McNeilly
1996 Claire Krukenberg   2022 April Hoffmeister