February 2018 

President's Message

ICTM President Jackie Murawska

Greetings, Illinois math teachers! As I humbly embark upon my term as ICTM President, I reflect upon attending my first ICTM conference in 1991, when I participated in my first professional development workshop. I will never forget this investigative lesson on tessellations facilitated by the late Hope Martin. I was hooked. ICTM is a place where everyone is excited about math, excited about teaching, and excited about learning new ways to engage students in meaningful mathematics! These are my people, I thought, and I hope you all feel the same way. In fact, nothing has been more influential in my continued growth as a mathematics educator than attending face-to-face professional math teacher conferences. That said, I issue a challenge to you all. The next ICTM Annual Conference will be October 19-20, 2018 in Tinley Park. Not only do I encourage you to attend, my challenge is that you all bring at least two math teachers with you. In this way, we will continue to grow our community of math educators like yourself who are committed to promoting equitable, high-quality mathematics teaching and learning.

The ICTM Board of Directors and I are also aware that we live in changing times, where teaching ideas are readily available through multiple electronic sources, where your time is precious. As such, the Board and I are continuing to re-evaluate the ways in which ICTM can continue to bring members together to collaborate and share resources, to bring you state and local math news, and disseminate information relevant to your professional development. Recent initiatives include monthly webinars, this newly designed E-Bulletin which replaces the former Bulletin, and presence on social media.

In addition, I want to express my sincere gratitude George Reese for his thoughtful leadership as ICTM Board President the last two years, and for his ongoing guidance to our organization as Past President. ICTM is a stronger organization having had George at the helm. He has led ICTM on many fronts, through collaboration with ISTA, reaching out to Illinois teachers across the state, rekindling affiliate relationships, initiating meetings with CPS schools to seek new ways to engage Chicago teachers in the mathematics community, developing a paperless professional development system, and many more. Thank you, George, for your service to ICTM.

I look forward to meeting all of you throughout the state at our regional conferences and events. Questions or comments? Email me at [email protected] Want to contribute to ICTM? Please keep reading below. Have a wonderful semester!

Upcoming Events and Professional Development

  • ICTM Contest is in full swing! Regional high school contests will be held around the state on Saturday, February 24, 2018. State finals will be on Saturday, May 5, 2018.

Can you help us....? 

Nominate a Math Teacher for an Award (full details here)

Become a Board Member   

Encourage a College Student to Apply for a Scholarship

ICTM Annual Conference

October 19-20, 2018 in Tinley Park, Illinois

Call for Proposals open now until February 28.

Conference registration will be available in summer 2018. Mark your calendars! 

Board News

Membership ChairWelcome Adam Poetzel, our new Membership Chair, who is now in charge of Membership and serves as the Webmaster! Thank you to Eric Bright for ushering in a new era for ICTM membership! ICTM cannot thank Eric enough for his tireless devotion in successfully transitioning ICTM into the management of our own membership and conference registration as well as the creation and maintenance of the newly-designed ICTM website. Thank you, Eric! 

New Board Members. ICTM welcomes new Board members Christina Betz-Cahill, Reginald Duncan, Cheng-Yao Lin, Steven Shadel, and Jill Winthrop. Thank you to our outgoing Board members Eric Bright, Zachary Herrmann, Carly Morales, and Peter Wiles for their service!

Professional Development Hours for ISBE. Thanks to George Reese and the MSTE office at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Illinois PD hours for those who attended the NCTM Regional Conference in Chicago were available in paperless form. We can look forward to using the same system at the upcoming ICTM conference!

Renew your ICTM Membership. Renew now. 

Awards Ceremony. December's NCTM Regional Conference in Chicago included an Awards Ceremony that celebrated excellence in mathematics teaching and teaching potential. Winners of the ICTM Scholarships were:

  • Chelsea Gossett from McKendree University
  • Stephanie Lake from McKendree University
  • Kylee M. Murray from Concordia University
  • Robin Prokaski Jr. from Saint Xavier University 
  • Kathleen L. Tollakson from Illinois State University

ICTM was pleased to present the following awards to outstanding Illinois teachers:

  • John O'Malley IV of Glenbrook South High School was the winner of the Illinois Promising New Teacher of Mathematics Award. 
  • Anita Reid from Lewistown High School was the winner of the T. E. Rine Secondary Mathematics Teaching Award. 
  • Don Porzio from the Illinois Mathematics & Science Academy was the winner of the Lee Yunker Mathematics Leadership Award.
  • John Benson from Evanston Township High School won the Distinguished Life Achievement Award


 ICTM 2017 Award Winners

Winners of the ICTM Awards (left to right): Don Porzio, Anita Reid, John O'Malley, and John Benson. 


Image result for facebook image Like us on FaceBook: Illinois Council of Teachers of Mathematics, ICTM

Image result for twitter image Follow us on Twitter: @MathICTM



Illinois Council of Teachers of Mathematics