ICTM Scholarships

The Illinois Council of Teachers of Mathematics will be presenting its annual Scholarships in Mathematics Education in October of each year.  ICTM has been awarding Scholarships to students since 1988.  You can see a list of past winners here.

There will be a minimum of 2 and a maximum of 5 awards granted of $1,500 to help defray educational expenses of the recipients.

You can help ensure that these scholarship are available for future generations by donating to the scholarship fund.

Donate to the Scholarship Fund

To Apply for a Scholarship

To be eligible, a student must:

  1. Be enrolled as a junior or senior in an accredited university or college in Illinois during Spring 2017 with a graduation during May 2017 or later.
  2. Be working on his/her first bachelor’s degree with an intent to teach in Illinois upon graduation.
  3. Be a mathematics education major, a mathematics major with an education minor, or an education major with an official mathematics emphasis.
  4. Have a total over all GPA of at least 3.00 from all colleges attended (based on 4.00).
  5. Submit hard copies of the following:
    1. A completed ICTM scholarship application form which you can type directly in the PDF form below and then print out for mailing. The application includes:
      1. Applicant information as requested
      2. Two 200-300 word essays as described below
      3. A complete lesson planning form as described below
    2. Transcripts from ALL COLLEGES ATTENDED. (These may be student copies but must be hard copy form, not electronic, to be mailed.)
    3. Letters of recommendation from two mathematics teachers, high school or college. These letters must state the capacity in which the writer knew the applicant and address his/her potential as a mathematics teacher. (These must be hard copy form, not electronic, to be mailed. If you receive the letter of recommendation electronically, print it out for mailing.)
    4. Some verification of your designated status and major (e.g. letter from advisor, copy of registration materials, etc.)

You may download and complete the 2017-2018 PDF version of the application here.  Directions for where to mail the completed application packet are included in the application.  You can also see the evaluation rubric here.


The 2016 Scholarship Awardees are:

Mackenzie Becherer

Mackenzie is now a senior at Illinois College majoring in Elementary Education with a Mathematics and Science endorsement.



Theodora Neofotistos

Theodora is a graduate of University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, with a degree in Mathematics and a minor in Secondary Education.


Katina Tole

Katina Tole is a senior in the College of Arts and Sciences and the School of Education at Loyola University of Chicago pursuing a double major in mathematics and secondary education.


Katie Yan

Katie Yan graduated from the University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign in June and has started her first teaching job at the Park Campus School in Grayslake District 54 as an 8th grade science and language arts teacher.